A New Adventure

Welcome back, friends! It’s been a while and it’s been A YEAR this year.

So since I last blogged, some thing have happened (I mean… two years) personally and obviously like… globally…

So personally- I tore my meniscus. I tried to twist on an uncooperative floor, my foot stayed, my knee went. It wasn’t fun. It ended my group fitness career (thumbs down). The first doctor wanted to do a repair or possibly a knee replacement. My second opinion was able to do a more simple and much easier to recover from meniscectomy (thumbs up).

It’s been a bit of a road back to recovery for the knee, but it feels pretty great most days!

I also find myself just a few pounds (and weeks) away from my highest weight ever. It sucks. I feel like crap. I’ve been gaining and losing the same 10lbs in quarantine (which is… not a good idea, I know) So over the past…. few months? I’m honestly not even sure because time is really getting away from me… anyhow, I’ve had some weird tingling and kind of burning and pain in my thigh. I googled (yeah, I know) and it was like “Ok, you’re either already a ghost, or it’s this thing that’s not so bad, meralgia paresthetica“. Luckily, the PA confirmed via virtual visit, it was probably the second, non ghost thing.

Cool right? Not really. She asked if I had been on my feet a lot lately (I had, retail) and she said that was not a great idea right now. It’s compression on the nerve. She said it could be from wearing tight pants- I was literally wearing pajama pants at this appointment… this is not the year for tight pants for anyone… but I asked if losing weight would help and she said “yes”. So I think that’s the final kick in the butt I needed.

So what do we (me and my demons) do now? We figure our shit out. What does that mean? Ultimately, this means I lose weight. (Does getting healthy for everyone look like this? Of course not) How do I do it? I’m thinking that over. I mean, obviously, I make better choices, right? Still figuring out the exact method. Secondary- I keep working out, I keep working mobility, and dammit I need to drink more water!

Now for something a bit more exciting- I’m going to launch YouTube channel to help me with this! Will it be scary? Yes. There’s nothing else to that. That’s the end. I’m hoping to get it up for the beginning of the year. I’ve been practice recording and editing, brainstorming ideas and… I guess that’s everything.

Oh, I don’t have my current “BEFORE” photos ready, so please enjoy this photo of my as Tina Belcher from Halloween and this one with a turkey headband for work the day before Thanksgiving.

4 thoughts on “A New Adventure

  1. I think you would monetize yourself on TikTok in a heartbeat. Jess Herring, LMHC 781-475-6327 https://therapists.psychologytoday.com/rms/prof_detail.php?profid=53493

    This email has been sent via GSuite Business; a HIPAA compliant email service. The information in this email is intended only for the person to whom it is addressed. If this message was sent to you in error, please contact the sender and properly dispose of this email. The Massachusetts Secretary of State has determined that e-mail is a public record.

    On Tue, Dec 15, 2020 at 1:04 PM Primashonna shapes up wrote:

    > primashonna posted: ” Welcome back, friends! It’s been a while and it’s > been A YEAR this year. So since I last blogged, some thing have happened (I > mean… two years) personally and obviously like… globally… So > personally- I tore my meniscus. I tried to twist on an” >

  2. I’ll be following! Can you do dance anymore, even as just a participant with modifications? If so, I’ve got a super duper fun option for you….

Leave a comment