New Fitness Adventures!

IMG_0263
It depends on the situation.

 

Happy New Year! (Late, I know)

So, I decided to try something new.  It’s been a very long time since I tried a new workout or class.  Kevin has been going to CrossFit since August and the results have been crazy. It was really obvious he enjoyed it a lot.  He would come home after class and tell me what the insane WOD (workout of the day) was that morning while I drank my coffee and I was intrigued and a bit intimidated.

I didn’t want to start anything crazy this fall since I was signed up to run three half marathons (we’ll get to that another time) and perform in Man of La Mancha (also more later) and I was worried about burning out or getting injured. BUT the more he talked about classes and the coaches, it was clear that form and safety were high priority.

During rehearsals for La Mancha, I had a conversation with our lovely choreographer who was 70 years old and had a hip replacement sometime in the last 5 years. She listed off things she still wanted to be able to do after the surgery and one was sit down in a low squat (which she then did).  I’m not 70 years old and have my original hips and couldn’t get my ass low enough to squat passed parallel.  Then I looked around one performance and noticed that like… half of the cast just did it during the show while delivering a freakin monologue and playing a damn ukulele like it was nothing. I needed to work on some stuff…

In the middle of December, I decided to try a free class. This was the blog/WOD entry for my first day.

IMG_0252
This was clearly the right place for me.

 

This came up when I googled CrossFit (it’s accurate):

Cross·Fit
ˈkrôsˌfit/
noun

trademark
noun: CrossFit; noun: Cross Fit
  • a high-intensity fitness program incorporating elements from several sports and types of exercise.
    “I thought I was strong until I tried to do CrossFit”

Each class consists of a warm up, strength training, and then the WOD. My first class was TOUGH. Really, all of them have been. It’s different every day and I’m learning a lot. In addition to the physical benefits, it’s been really helpful and refreshing (and challenging) to be a student again. Being in a new situation and starting from the beginning is helping me better communicate with the new members in my classes.

Also, I’m used to being one of the people who lifts the heaviest in classes like Body Pump and Group Power… not the case here. This is definitely a “check your ego at the door” situation. I knew that going in, luckily, but wow.

 

The upside? Plenty of room for progress!

 

IMG_0254

Leave a comment