Weigh in, recipe, and Halloween’s coming!

Weigh in this morning and I’m down 3lbs this week! And I lost a daily Smart Point. A moment of silence, please. I’m feeling pretty good about the Smart Points program this time around.

My food is not always pretty. And sometimes I’m charging my phone and listening to Hamilton while I cook, so I forget to take pictures… BUT Sunday night’s dinner was tasty even though it looked kind of boring.

Balsamic Honey Chicken
6 servings
7 Smart Points

1/3 cup olive oil
1/4 cup balsamic vinegar
1 tbsp Dijon mustard
1 tbsp honey
2 tsp sriracha
1 tsp garlic powder
2 tsp salt
12 (4oz each) boneless, skinless chicken thighs trimmed of visible fat

 

Preheat oven to 425°.  Whisk together oil, vinegar, mustard, honey, sriracha, garlic powder, and salt.  You could probably marinate the chicken for a couple of hours or overnight and get an even better flavor than I did. I just put the chicken in a glass baking thing and mixed it around. Cook for 20 minutes and there you go!

I served it with roasted onions and Brussels sprouts- cut all sprouts to be about the same size, slice the onions into half circles. Put them on a baking sheet with some olive oil, salt, and pepper and roast at the same time as the chicken!

img_2750
Looks dull, tastes great!

 

It’s Halloween this week, and I have a few themed classes and events… I’m having a tough time coming up with a good costume. Our Zumba theme is “Villains”. I went out and bought a bunch of Queen of Hearts accessories, brought them home, and then realized I spent $45 on costumes pieces I’m going to sweat all over and use once. So I returned them, bought some fake leaves and a headband, and planned on making my own “Poison Ivy” costume. First, the leaves wouldn’t stay on  I looked like a tree. Or a pile of leaves. So I pulled out my old Yitzak (from Hedwig) red wig and tried to make that work… but I don’t want to Zumba in a hot wig… So I stopped fighting it, and I’m just going to be what probably everyone is going to be… I’ll post pictures later!

Here are the hopeful pictures of my failed Poison Ivy attempt…

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

