Lazy Bastard Chili: Pumpkin Edition

So, I mentioned I’ve been having some trouble sticking to my plan. The working out isn’t a problem, but I’ve been getting off track with the food. I’ve always had a hard time getting back after a slip up – an off plan meal, snack, or whole day – and this is often the time when I just give up entirely. I’m hoping blogging a little more often will help me feel more accountable.

I don’t know that I have great insight or any idea what my problem is. Some of it might be stress and some of it might be poor planning? I know the program works and I know it’s not terrible to follow!

So, I planned out a nice and easy lunch for myself that will last the week.

Lazy Bastard Chili: Pumpkin edition

yields 6 servings
time maybe 10 minutes
smart points 5 and simply filling friendly

1 bag of frozen onion and pepper mix
1 cup frozen corn
1 – 28 ounce can diced tomatoes
2- 15.5 ounce cans of rinsed beans (I used black and black eyed peas)
1 – 15.5 ounce can of pumpkin
salt
coriander
turmeric
garlic powder
Sriracha

Throw frozen veggies and tomatoes in a large pot. Once they’re heated through, add the rinsed beans.

img_2565

Let it heat up for a couple of minutes and then add the pumpkin. Stir in and then add the spices.  I didn’t measure… remember. Lazy bastard chili.

img_2566
Spices!

 

Let it heat up and simmer for 5 minutes or so and enjoy with rice, quinoa, or tortilla chips!

img_2569

 

And here’s a bonus for tip for your dog… drop a bunch of chips on the floor, he’ll love it!

If you’re looking for more work, I definitely made some pumpkin chili before, but it involved some chopping and I used different beans and spices. It’s also interesting to me that I made this another time I felt myself slipping…

Leave a Reply

