Mini Breakfast Quiche recipe (UPDATED!)

Breakfast, man. I love it. But I hate getting up in the morning. So much. I’m completely willing to blame it on my lack of thyroid. Once I’m up for a bit, it’s fine, but that initial act of getting out of bed is just so hard.

***UPDATE*** cooking breakfast at any time is, apparently “hard” for me… So… I totally put 6 extra large eggs in the first time and wrote the recipe that way… and then counted my points as if I put in 12 eggs. So… Imagine my surprise when I made my second batch of these and they were GIGANTIC and way more amazing looking than the first round. So, this week, I’ll eat the food I counted. I also added some turmeric. And here’s the updated recipe… ****

Usually I have a class or two first thing, and I don’t like to exercise on an empty stomach. I also like to give myself about an hour between breakfast and (at least) one cup of coffee. This often results in me quickly eating breakfast in like… 10 minutes…

I go through phases with what I like, but it’s always easier if I can prepare ahead of time. This week, I gave mini quiche a try. I’ve looked up a bunch of recipes and lost a lot of time on Pintrest… so much time… but it seemed like you can just kind of go with what you have at home.  The results- delicious!

Mini Breakfast Quiche- second try!

12 large or extra large or whatever whole eggs
1/4 cup of thawed frozen spinach
cooked (but not hot) mushrooms and onions from my lunch prep
1 -2 oz of goat cheese
salt and pepper
1/4 teaspoon of turmeric

Beat the eggs. Add the salt, pepper, turmeric, and veggies and stir to combine.

img_2442

I used a 1/4 cup measuring cup to divide the mix between 12 muffin cups. I added the goat cheese at the end so it was even. I went with 1 oz, but I might give 2 a try next time.

Bake in the over for 20-25 minutes at 350°

img_2443

 

Came out to 5 Smart Points for 2 mini quiches. They lasted me 6 days in the fridge and I just heated them in the microwave for 30 seconds.

img_2445

 

Leave a Reply

