Recipe! Delicata Squash and Black Bean Stew

First, I don’t want to leave you hanging from the last post- what hurts the most after my personal training session? My lip because I hit myself in the face with a Bosu Ball.  Kevin dubbed the actual picture of my cut lip “too gross” to share, so here is what it sort of looks like.

janice_m15

Next, fall is here and I’m pretty excited. It’s my favorite season for many reasons – my hair doesn’t just melt into a puddle of sweat as soon as walk out the door, hoodies, my birthday, Halloween, new TV, boots, and SQUASH!!!!

I made this yummy stew today for dinner. It’s inspired by a recipe from The Kind Diet by Alicia Silverstone. It was the first vegan cook book I bought, and I highly recommend it. I may not be vegan still, but it’s has some delicious recipes!

So, I’m not a recipe author… or follower… Most of the time, I add the ingredients to my shopping list, sort of glance at the recipe, and then go for  it. Often I forget something at the store and end up Googling substitutions.  Or don’t read ahead enough to see that I’m absolutely going to mess it up. It’s ok. Every meal I cook turns into a terrifying game of Chopped. I also don’t super measure spices…

Makes 4 big servings, but you could cut it down to 6 especially if you served it with rice or quinoa
Time- 40 ish minutes?

2 medium Vidalia Onions diced
1 kind of on the larger side Delicata Squash cut into inch-ish cubes
2 15oz cans of diced tomatoes (or one 28 oz, it’s just what I had in the house)
1 15oz can of black beans
NOTE I didn’t measure the spices…
Salt
Turmeric
Coriander
Cayenne
Garlic Powder – (fresh garlic is cool, I just can’t eat it. If you go with fresh, I’d suggest 2 cloves and you should cook them with the onions)
Ground ginger

Spray the bottom of a large pot with olive oil cooking spray (or you could use a couple teaspoons of oil) and cook the onions with some salt over a low-medium heat until they sweat a little and get sort of translucent (I’m really killing this so far)

img_2311-1
poorly diced onions

Add all of the spices!

img_2318
some of that and then some other stuff… and then the other thing

Mix ’em up and let them cook a bit longer. Until the kitchen smells pretty awesome. (set your timer for “awesome kitchen smell”)

img_2320
yaaaaaay spices

Add the cut up Delicata, tomatoes, and enough water to cover the squash.

img_2321
unevenly cut squash

Turn up the heat until it comes to a boil. Lower it a bit and let it cook until the squash is tender. I think it was around 20-25 minutes. Add the beans and let it simmer for… 10 minute or so.

img_2334
Look at you! You did it!

 

I should have served it with some rice or quinoa because the Smart Points value was 3! It’s super low, which is exciting, but I should have bulked it up a little.

The lower points value meant I HAD to eat some tortilla chips, hummus, and a beer for a snack.  You gotta do what you gotta do, I guess.

img_2341
Cheers!
2 thoughts on “Recipe! Delicata Squash and Black Bean Stew

Leave a Reply

